Irwindale Chamber of Commerce
Your Business Resource, Advocate & Partner
Young Citizen of the Year Award
Click here for 2017 Irwindale Young Citizen of the Year Application - Deadline is June 30, 3017

Brandon Fraijo selected as the 2016 Irwindale Young Citizen of the Year

​The 2016 Young Citizen of the Year Competition was held at the Irwindale Senior Center on Wednesday, August 3, 2016. Irwindale Police Department Captain Ty Henshaw served as the event emcee to a packed room of local residents, family members of the contestants, local elected officials and business representatives.  Five outstanding Irwindale youth competed by presenting an original essay discussing how social networking has impacted the quality of relationships in society.  The contestants also responded to impromptu questions from the judges. Brandon Fraijo, Sergio Torres, Zalene Acosta, Delilah Miranda and Amrie Soria all impressed the judges with their poise, enthusiasm, thoughtfulness, and community involvement.   Marlene Carney, Irwindale Chamber CEO, said “We are so proud of these smart and savvy kids that care about the community and are willing to step out there and do what it takes to make a positive difference in their lives and the lives of others.   This continues to be one of my favorite chamber events and I applaud the participants.”
Irwindale Mayor Mark Breceda, Mayor ProTempore Albert F. Ambriz, Councilmember H. Manuel Ortiz and Councilmember Larry Burrola, Planning Commissioner Loretta Corpis were in attendance, along with Irwindale Chamber of Commerce Board Chair Phyllis Ferguson (California Custom Fruits and Flavors), Immediate Past Chair Dawn DeVroom (Arrow Automotive) and board member, Victor Benavides (City of Hope).  Vocalist Loretta Corpis provided an uplifting musical interlude.  California Grill Express catered a lovely dinner.
This event could not have been possible without the generous support of our sponsors, committee members, judges, and attendees. Special thanks to DINNER sponsor MillerCoors, and SPEECH sponsors City of Hope, Foothill Transit, and United Rock Products. Many thanks go to the Irwindale Young Citizen of the Year Committee: Eloise Beltran (Irwindale Senior Center); April Kelcy, Earthquake Solutions; Priscilla Zepeda, Irwindale Recreation Department and Theresa Olivares, Irwindale Housing Authority and Irwindale Chamber staff members, Marlene Carney, Veronica Orosco and Sari Canales . Additional thanks go to all the Irwindale Senior Center Staff, Loretta Corpis, and Steve Castro of Eagle Photography.  A special thank you to April Kelcy of Earthquake Solutions and a member of the Irwindale Toastmasters Club 9811 for the time she took coaching the kids and helping them with their public speaking skills. Thank you to the San Gabriel Valley Young Marines for their participation in honoring our nation.